Sabah to stick with CMCO guidelines until May 17 despite nationwide MCO

KOTA KINABALU: Sabah will stick to its current SOPs under the state’s conditional MCO, although Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has announced a nationwide movement control order until June 7.

This is stated in one of the points in Muhyiddin’s announcement on Monday (May 10) evening where Sabah, Sarawak and Labuan will continue with their existing SOPs.

According to the minister in charge of Covid-19 affairs for Sabah, Datuk Seri Masidi Manjun, although Sabah can keep to the current SOPs, necessary adjustments might be made when needed.

“However, for now, we will stick with our existing SOPs, ” he said when contacted.

He said for areas under enhanced MCO, they will remain as such until the scheduled cease date.

The detailed SOPs are available in the Sabah National Security Council and Jabatan Penerangan (Informations Department) Facebook pages, among other platforms.

Masidi said he had requested for Sabah to remain with its SOPs, as they are proven and still remain effective in controlling the spread of Covid-19 in the state.

Areas still under enhanced MCO are Felda Umas, Kalabakan, PPR Batu 2 Lorong Habib Abdul Rahman, as well as PPR Batu 8 Jalan Apas of Tawau and Kompleks Abedon (Bumiwealth, Kolopis & Tanaki) in Kinabatangan.

The two in Tawau and Kompleks Abedon in Kinabatangan will end their EMCO on May 11, while the EMCO for Felda Umas has been extended to May 25.

Sabah recorded 96 new Covid-19 cases on May 10, with a death in Lahad Datu and a new cluster called Kluster Komplex Empat that involves eight districts – Kota Kinabalu, Papar, Tuaran, Penampang, Putatan, Ranau, Kota Belud dan Sandakan.