Lahore Qalandars win toss, opt to field in first PSL fixture against Peshawar Zalmi – Pakistan

Lahore Qalandars have won the toss and elected to field first in their first match of this year’s Pakistan Super League (PSL) tournament against Peshawar Zalmi at the National Stadium in Karachi on Sunday.

Afghanistan spin wizard Rashid Khan will be making his first appearance in the PSL for the Qalandars. Dilbar Hussain is being replaced by Salman Mirza due to the former’s recurring hamstring injury.

Lahore Qalandars, arguably the most sought-after franchise, finally overcame the jinx last year of finishing at the bottom in each of the first four editions. They qualified for their play-offs for the first time and then even reached the final. However, they were defeated by Karachi Kings.


Lahore Qalandars: Sohail Akhtar (capt), Fakhar Zaman, Salman Agha, Mohammad Hafeez, Ben Dunk, Samit Patel, David Wiese, Rashid Khan, Ahmed Daniyal, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Salman Mirza.

Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal (wk), Imam Ul Haq, Haider Ali, Shoaib Malik, Ravi Bopara, Sherfane Rutherford, Amad Butt, Wahab Riaz (capt), Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Saqib Mehmood, Mohammad Imran.