Zaqhwan is fastest but will miss first race because of shooting

PETALING JAYA: Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (pic) has no problem with a stock standard Honda CBR1000RR bike as he showed by posting a new MSBK 1000 lap record at Round 1 of the Malaysia Superbike Cham pionship (MSBK).

The 26-year-old posted a fast 2:07.317 on the first day of free practice at the Sepang International Circuit.

“I am riding a stock standard bike, direct from the factory. The only major difference is, of course, the suspension system. Creating a new lap time came as a complete surprise to me too,” said Zaqhwan.

Nevertheless, Zaqhwan revealed that he will not be taking part in Race 1 today.

“Honda had made prior arrangement to film a launch video with me. Since there was no way to change the studio time, I have no choice but to absent myself from the grid tomorrow.

“But I will be back for Race 2 and Race 3 on Sunday. But having missed the all-important qualifying session, this means that I will start both races from the back of the grid,” he explained.

MSBK 1000 rookie Kasma Daniel Kasmayuddin gave a good account of himself in his maiden ride astride the Yamaha YZF-R1M.

Kasma ended the day half a second adrift of Zaqhwan’s pace, second quickest in the class with 2:07.742.

Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman clocked the third fastest time of 2:08.134.

The 2019 FIM Asian Superbike champion was having trouble getting back into the grove and crashed out in the closing minutes of the second free practice.

In the MSBK 600 category, Ibrahim Norrodin is still the man to beat. The SIC Racing rider topped both free practice sessions and ended the day with a 2:10.258 timing.

Round 1 of the Malaysia Superbike Championship is open to spectators. Entrance to the grandstand is free but limited to only adults above 18 years old who have completed their vaccination.


MSBK 1000: 1. Mohd Zaqhwan Zaidi (Honda, Boon Siew Honda Racing Team) 2:07.317, 2. Kasma Daniel Kasmayuddin (Yamaha, Yamaha Racing Team Asean) 2:07.742, 3. Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman (BMW, ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team) 2:08.134.

MSBK 600: 1. Ibrahim Norrodin (Yamaha SIC Racing) 2:10.258, 2. Azroy Hakeem Anuar (Honda Boon Siew Honda Racing Team) 2:11.266, 3. Mohd Helmi Azman (Honda, Boon Siew Honda Racing Team) 2:11.397.

MSBK 250: 1. Mohd Izam Ikmal (Honda, Boon Siew Honda Racing Team) 2:28.590, 2. Mohd Danial Syahmi A Shahril (Kawasaki, SIC Racing) 2:29.007, 3. Mohd Shafiq Rasol (Yamaha, ONEXOX TKKR Racing Team) 2:30.850.